Bearing Witness

I clung to miracles I have not seen
From ancient signatures I cannot read
Though I’ve repented I’m still tempted I admit
But it’s not what bearing witness is

To full of fear and prophecy to see
The revelation right in front of me
So sick and tired of trying to make the pieces fit
cause it’s not what bearing witness is

When the gap between
what I hoped would be
and what is makes me weep for my kids
I take a cleansing breath
and make a positive confession
But is that what bearing witness is?

Though it may alienate your family
and blur the lines of your identity
Let go of what you know
and honor what exists
Son, that’s what bearing witness is
Daughter, that’s what bearing witness is

3 thoughts on “Bearing Witness

  1. I love David Bazan. I think he is one of the greatest song writers of our time. I wonder though why it’s so magnetic to watch someone lose their faith in front of our eyes. I’ve listen to this album hundreds of times and I still can’t put my finger on it. Our society puts more value on struggle then commitment it seems, and the reality is there is truth in both.

  2. “Our society puts more value on struggle then commitment it seems,”

    I don’t know if that’s entirely true. From my perspective, our society places more value on certainty than doubt. Our society seems allergic to “struggle.” This is why I think listening to Bazan is like a breath of fresh air for so many. He’s brutally honest and just writes from experience. It’s beautiful. I’ve lost faith in the God Bazan has turned away from so these songs are profoundly meaningful for me. Maybe the difference between Bazan and myself if I’ve found a God that wouldn’t like Bazan’s God either.

Leave a Reply

