“I can’t say something like that.”

I saw this on TV yesterday, and I almost fell out of my chair. From CNN:

Speaking to ABC’s “This Week,” McCain was asked whether Alaska Gov. Sarah Palin could count on his support. “I can’t say something like that. We’ve got some great other young governors. I think you’re going to see the governors assume a greater leadership role in our Republican Party,” he said, citing Governors Tim Pawlenty of Minnesota and Jon Huntsman of Utah.

McCain said he has “the greatest appreciation for Governor Palin and her family, and it was a great joy to know them. She invigorated our campaign” against Barack Obama for the presidency.

Pressed on why he can’t promise support for the woman who, just months ago, he named as the second best person to lead the nation, McCain responded that “now we’re in a whole election cycle. Have no doubt of my admiration and respect for her and my view of her viability, but at this stage, again … my corpse is still warm, you know?”

No words can really sum up how happy I am that this man lost. It’s not that he’s a bad man, but with his pick of Sarah Palin, his judgement will be forever suspect.

2 thoughts on ““I can’t say something like that.”

  1. I think that is the closest he will ever come to openly admitting that Palin was a hail mary play. He’ll never admit he thought women would vote for him just because he brought her on board, but that’s what he did.

  2. Well, considering that I’ve heard on multiple occasions that he was ardent about picking Lieberman, it’s not too surprising that he said this.

    And like I’ve said before, if he would’ve picked Lieberman, I probably would’ve voted for him. Not because I liked him, but because that’s some REAL CHANGE in the political system.

Leave a Reply

