The War Within

One of my favorite movies of all time is All The President’s Men. After I watched it, I read the book and as a result, Bob Woodward has become somewhat of a hero of mine. His work got me interested in both politics and journalism. His ability to unravel the complicated web of power in Washington is not easily rivaled.

I religiously buy whatever book he releases and his upcoming release, The War Within, is certainly no exception. I’ve really enjoyed his books on the Bush presidency, especially State of Denial, which is an incredibly powerful account of what one could consider the Bush administrations darkest days.

The clip above is amazing. The Bush administration has been both deeply, deeply flawed and endlessly fascinating. Reading along as Woodward illuminates its darkest corners, it breaks your heart, makes you furious and embeds in you a fear that this kind of inept leadership will again steer us this far off course.

You can read more about Bush’s planning for the “Surge” in a recent article by Woodward for the Washington Post.

2 thoughts on “The War Within

  1. I am suspicious of the claim that Woodward would be able to write an “insider’s view” of this situation. Perhaps he did, but I’m not sure.

    He talks as if he has omniscient knowledge and unfettered access to every high level official. There is no way he has that kind of access, especially in light of his last couple books.

    I’m not a big Bush fan at all, but I’m just trying to be critical and discerning; does it strike anyone else as odd that Woodward again seems to have the information and insight that no one else has?

  2. Matt, I think that is part of Woodward’s appeal. He’s a world-class journalist who knows how to uncover what many think impossible to reveal. I think it’s also worth pointing out that he has written other books that have been somewhat generous to the Bush administration. I haven’t read this book yet, but from what I’ve heard, it’s a bit more friendly to the administration.

Leave a Reply

