Low Road

Senator James Inhofe is always entertaining:

“Regardless of what polls show, Inhofe said, voters will have to ask themselves a question once they get behind the curtain in the voting booth on Election Day.
“Do you really want to have a guy as commander in chief of this country when you can question whether or not he really loves his country?” he asked.

“That’s the big question.” (…)

After he was asked for an explanation on why voters should question Obama’s love for his country, Inhofe issued a written statement on Friday to clarify his earlier comments.

“Let me be clear,” he said.

“I am not questioning Sen. Obama’s patriotism, but you have to question why at times he seems so obviously opposed to public displays of patriotism and national pride, like wearing an American flag lapel pin.””

This is what it boils down to for the GOP. They have nothing to run on other than that John McCain was a POW and that Barack Obama might not truly love his country.

(HT: Hilzoy)

4 thoughts on “Low Road

  1. I realize that I my never gain the perspective needed to understand the kind of reverence displayed for war veterans in the US since Sweden, my home country, hasn’t been at war for almost 400 yrs. But why should the fact that John McCain was in Vietnam be something to be proud of? When will people stop seeing the Vietnam War as something to be proud of? I have a hard time seeing it as anything but another instance of modern imperialism.

    I know this strays a bit from what you’re actually pointing out here, but I kind of took the opportunity to say this anyway. πŸ™‚ I do hope your next president will be Barack Obama, though I agree with Scot McKnight that the thing to keep in mind is that we’re all still called to follow Jesus in our daily lives no matter who gets sworn in – but for America’s sake, in the eyes of the rest of the world, you will do far better with Obama as president.

    Anyway, like your blog, Zach – though I most of the time just find myself nodding in agreement than actually chipping in with my own thoughts in the comments. πŸ™‚

  2. (Reads quotation)

    (Rolls eyes)

    And *how* recently was it said, “If you don’t have anything to run on, you paint your opponent as someone to run from?”

    Senator Inhofe ought to be ashamed of himself.

  3. I found myself last week saying, “Don’t you think running for president is one of the most patriotic things you can do?”
    Their answer was no. Arrrrgggghhhh!!!

Leave a Reply

