Like a Child

I look at this photo and it reminds me of myself in a way. Even though it is a photo of my daughter mingling in the shallow edge of the Pacific Ocean, the image speaks a truth to me that I too easily miss in the distraction of every day living. For me, this photo is a humbling image. An image that reminds me that I am small, that I know very little, that there is an enormous amount of discoveries to be made. The ocean brings with it a power, a mystery, a danger…..but also an invitation. There is a divine calling of something in our souls that draws into an experience with the water.

This is the moment I realized that Nature is our teacher. As much as our scriptures call us to this same kind of dangerous mystery, so does the sand between our toes, so does the water that pushes us and pulls within its embrace.

Shortly after I took this photo, Ava accidentally fell all the way into the water, completely drenching her from head to toe. She got up from out of the water an had the biggest smile on her face that I’ve ever seen. Amen?

14 thoughts on “Like a Child

  1. Nice picture Zach! I’m a wannabe photographer myself. I love the colors and the contrast of your daughters dress against the sea. I also have to say that I love pictures with depth behind them, I think the child-like wonder of the world is something everyone should seek more of. You are truly blessed to have such a great daughter that is able to help you see God everyday.

  2. That is a beautiful picture, but an even more beautiful experience. It often takes a child to teach us the things that we lost along the way to being “grown up.” There is something magnetic to the ocean drawing people to the shore, drawing out your fears or your peace. I’m glad you shared this with us.

  3. Zach,

    OK thought long and hard before asking this, can I share this picture with some people? I help run a local support group for pregnancy and child loss, I think it would really touch them the way it has me. We have lost two pregnancies this year, my husband and I. Anyway I would have asked a better way but didn’t know any other way to contact you.

  4. Emmy, I’m very very sorry to hear about what you and your husband have gone through. Please feel free to use the photo in any way you see fit.

  5. Love the picture. San Diego is a blast. We just got back, ourselves.
    I saw the “Big Sister” shirt that Ava was wearing… Congrats!?!!
    We just found out we are *finally* expecting a boy — after 4 girls 🙂

  6. no, ava is just a big sister in training at the moment. she loves that shirt and who are we to tell her no? ha. congratulations on your upcoming new addition. that’s fantastic!

  7. Thanks…
    Darn – was hoping the shirt was an “announcement”! She’s a darn cute little girl.
    I made a really weird connection the other day – I went to HS with your older brother. I knew that you were at MV w/ my younger brother, but didn’t realize you had an older bro. It was kind of a weird moment when I figured it out.
    I’m looking forward to Wednesday! Glad you guys are back for a gig!!

  8. Thanks Zach,

    The picture inspired some very healing conversation at our meeting yesterday. I appreciate the sympathy, but the awareness is more important. Thanks for letting me share your work.

  9. hey zach
    this picture reminds me of myself a little bit too. my parents were divorced when i was 6(now i’m 15). before this i’ve had a pretty good childhood. i dont understand why people are getting married and then they’re leaving each other. i wish i could be a little girl again, no any fckn problems. but ‘c’est la vie’ . ‘futures’ is my favorite album because it’s about growing up. maybe in the future i could think about it in a different ..way.but ava should enjoy her childhood before it’s too late.

    sry but i can’t speak english very well…

Leave a Reply

