Facebook Sux

Josh Marshall highlights one of the many reasons why I cancelled my facebook profile:

Maybe because I don’t buy enough stuff online. But according to this article in the Times, they’ve got it set up now where your “friends” are notified about what you buy online — presumably by some modern equivalent of cookies. So you get pinged “Josh bought ‘Jack’s Big Music Show DVD” from Blahblah.com!

And you can’t disable the function apparently. [ed.note: Usually I get tips and corrections from readers. In this case it came from my wife. Apparently you can opt out. But not in general. You have to opt out on every single purchase. A box comes up when you buy something and asks “Would you like to tell your friends on Facebook about your purchase of this Large Vibrating Egg (TM)?’ So I think my disgruntlement still applies.]

Doing what I do I live my life with a certain amount of transparency. But I think I might actually close my account just based on the intrusiveness of it. Am I just an old fuddy-duddy?

Seconded. The Times article he mentioned can be found here.

6 thoughts on “Facebook Sux

  1. i think it’s interesting how people are so concerned about what everyone else is doing all the time

    there was another interesting article from the nytime that compared the new glass apartment buildings in manhatten to the status updates of facebook.

  2. I’ve not noticed this and still like Facebook. Its free. I don’t think you can have too much beef with it, fair enough they try and seel you stuff, but you can ignore it.

Leave a Reply

