Don’t get close me! You’ll lose Spirit Points!

left-behind-eternal-forces-20060407021617044.jpg

If there is one thing that I want for Christmas, it would be that the “Left Behind: Eternal Forces” video game is made to be compatible with my Mac. In all seriousness, I desperately want to play this game. I’ve searched high and low online for some news or rumors that would hint that they would release a Mac version of the game, but no luck…..so far. Your prayers are appreciated.

Thanks to Andrew Sullivan, I came across this very interesting article from the San Francisco Chronicle that highlights the fact that there are some Christians who are speaking out against the game and its violence. Apparently, as a player in the game, you either convert non-believers or else you have to kill them with a gun.

An excerpt from the article reads:

Left Behind Games’ president, Jeffrey Frichner, says the game actually is pacifist because players lose “spirit points” every time they gun down nonbelievers rather than convert them. They can earn spirit points again by having their character pray.

“You are fighting a defensive battle in the game,” Frichner, whose previous company produced Bible software, said of combatting the Antichrist. “You are a sort of a freedom fighter.”

And…..

Jeff Gerstmann, senior editor at Gamespot.com, an online publication, said the game sn’t popular. The game itself, which Gamespot rated 3.4 out of a possible 10, has lots of glitches.

“And it’s kind of crazy,” Gerstmann said. “One of the evil characters is a rock musician. … If you get too close to him your spirit is lowered.”

But Plugged In, a publication of the conservative Christian group Focus on the Family, gave the game a “thumbs-up.” The reviewer called it “the kind of game that Mom and Dad can actually play with Junior — and use to raise some interesting questions along the way.”

Frichner said that is precisely his company’s ultimate goal in offering the game: to bring parents and kids together to talk about the Bible.

Man, I’d love to sit down with my 5-year-old daughter while I’m playing this game and talk to her about the Bible and why I need to kill all the non-believers on my computer screen, but if she gets too close to me, she’d lose all her “spirit points”. Bummer.

11 thoughts on “Don’t get close me! You’ll lose Spirit Points!

  1. Zach, This is exactly why I am glad we have never met in person, as my Spirit Points are precious to me. I think just being around John causes me to lose some every once in a while. 🙂 This post makes me LOL.

  2. It’s sad what passes as Christian these days. Of course I’m sure this comes from the same crowd that has been crying for our pres to pre-emptively bomb Iraq to usher in the Apocalypse. Wonderful folks, really.

  3. taking a closer look, is that a dead woman crumpled up on the street? kind of makes me want to throw up. what parents would actually play this game with their children? i grew up in the 90’s and don’t recall my parents ever wanting to play goldeneye with my brother and i.

  4. I knew I was losing my powers during our exchange on the previous post last week. I am growing weaker as I typppe. I am better. I just had to pray. Shouldn’t the game have one guy with a gun and thousand of bodies around him(or her, sorry ladies)?

  5. Alas, your dream of playing the game via mac is not to be. For the presence of this wonderful bastion of apocolyptic piety on the platform of forbidden fruit would surely defile the image of Kirk Cameron, stealing away all hope of overcoming the great tribulation soon to come.

    Ok, seriously, haven’t seen too much about the game and I hope it will fade away or be silently raptured or something. “Convert or Die” is not really my idea of video game fun. Who the heck thought this was a good idea???

Leave a Reply

