“Damn” is a Dirty Word

This made me chuckle.

13 thoughts on ““Damn” is a Dirty Word

  1. Despite what the nice folks at Slice have to say… I say you in fact do look pretty “damn hot” – especially in that nice lime green number. Gggrrr.

  2. Well, crap. So now I can’t listen to you guys either!?!?! How’s it feel to be SOL? 🙂

    Yeah, I guess you guys are pretty damn hot. I’ll stress the pretty. But sorry, you got nothin’ me.

  3. Tee hee, damn* I hope I grow out of you before people have to start taking me seriously.

    *Sorry to all I offended 😉

    On a serious note I feel this is just a case of ‘grumpy old man syndrome’, were a priest listening to Lynyrd Skynrd record 25+ years ago that would have been deemed as ‘juvenile’ as a JEW mp3 now, yet were the same guy listening to Freebird on vinyl today and it’ll be accepted as having a cultural interest in classic contemporary music… not that I’m saying Disintegration stands to receive the adulation and status of Freebird, sorry Zach! But hey I’d rather listen to it at least 🙂

    p.s. I dunno if Freebird was a good example of what a young priest would listen to in the late 70’s early 80’s but hopefully you get the point!

  4. I clicked to the website, thought it was ridiculous, and made a post hoping to insert another perspective. Afterwards I read a couple of more posts and realized I had totally wasted my time.

    In fact, when I submitted my post it popped up the ‘ole “To protect against malicious comments…” which means that since my post is in disagreement with the rest of the blog it will probably never even see the light of day.

  5. I really want to know what this guy thinks is “appropriate” for a preacher to enjoy.

    Personally, if I find a minister who can restore my faith in the church system through compassion and understanding, then he can listen to whatever he wants as far as I’m concerned. Frankly, if he’s got “Static Prevails” on his iPod, it just sweetens the deal.

  6. i guess, by now, i shouldn’t be surprised by this kind of stuff – but it always amazes me when christians gripe & moan about (name your pet peeve), as if they are helping matters. yes, belittling, distorting and attacking others different than you has always proven to be an effective way to show that God is love.

    the crazy thing is, there could have been a legitimate point about the problems of perpetual adolescence (which affects most of american culture, not just the “emergent” churches she’s attacking)… but, sadly, she seems more interested in name-calling and finger-pointing than creating positive change. to use her example, would a couple going through marital problems want to go to someone who’s just going to yell at them? whatever happened to speaking the truth in love?

    one of the funniest/most depressing things on her site is in her “about me” section, where she condemns megachurches and/or emergent churches because they include “Rappers, hula praise dancers, contortionists, acupuncturists, liposuctionists”… dude, i wish she included a link to that church, because it might be the best church ever. i also like that she somehow equates rap and acupuncture.

  7. “On a serious note I feel this is just a case of ‘grumpy old man syndrome”

    “really want to know what this guy thinks is..”

    Actually, the grumpy old man here is a woman. Or maybe it’s man and he’s grumpy because he’s been teased all of his life about being named Ingrid.

    She doesn’t seem to be a JEW fan, or a Showbread fan either. My guess, also, if she was in the audience and someone shouted out “What do you want to hear?” she wouldn’t know the correct answer. I’m saying she probably wasn’t a Skynard fan either.

    It doesn’t look like she’s a fan of anything. She seems to be pretty much against everything but her and her blog.

  8. Wow, I’m three for three with this person. Apparently, since I’m a pastor I need to disavow my love of your music and stop going to Disneyland. And homestarrunner too! 😦 Dang man. What is this world coming to?

Leave a Reply

