We want a pitcher, not a belly itcher!!

D8GU2GI83_preview.jpgYou would think from all of Dick Cheney’s bad-ass, hard-nose posturing that he’d be able to get it to the catcher from on top of the mound. From the looks of this photo, he’s probably giving himself about a 10 yard head start to the catcher. The news reports say that he recieved boos from the crowd. I wonder if it was for his policies or his rag arm?

This brings to light my favorite thing about George W. Bush. That would be the fact that he probably has the best throwing arm of any recent president and, as demonstrated at the 2001 World Series, he can hit the glove from the rubber.

0465.jpg

Just look at that sweet release point!!

I love opening day. In about an hour Holly and I will be enjoying the first home game at the newly named “Chase Field” to watch the Diamondbacks. Play Ball!

9 thoughts on “We want a pitcher, not a belly itcher!!

  1. Sweet! I’m a regular at Royals games here. There’s nothing better than sitting back and watching a baseball game in the spring. I can say that because I’ve never sat back and watched a baseball game in late October. πŸ™‚

  2. Verging on bashing the conservatives there Zach, is it not still lent?

    Baseball’s okay (I read your Dad was a pro?), but imagine baseball with a harder ball, where ‘the pitcher’ can bounce it off the floor and aim at your head/body, can spin it off the ground to beat the bat, where each ‘out’ means this much:

    Where the out fielders are not allowed any form of gloves and often field this close:

    Imagine it if the batsman had to choose how to play each shot from a massive array of different options (rather than bunt/hit), add a load more confrontation and with more intensity than any other sport, and then you’re getting somewhere near cricket πŸ˜‰

    Okay, okay it takes forever, get over it!

  3. Ahh, the glorious sport of baseball. Another year to watch my Yankees kick some butt. From the looks of it, we should try and get Bush in some pinstripes soon. As for Cheney, I think he has proven himself worthy of being a Boston Red Sox pitcher.

  4. Nothing says spring like Opening day at Fenway Park…except maybe the two little birds who return to their nest above my front door every year.

    Hey Jeremy…how many millions have you guys spent to win a world series? You keep signing all these quality guys like…Giambi, and Sheffeild, and still nothing πŸ™‚

  5. J.I., this is in no way bashing the Bush Administration. My critisicm of Cheney is balanced out by my praise for Bush, obviously. Lent has forced to see the good in Bush and I’ve found it in his throwing arm. πŸ™‚ I think what we can both agree on is that both baseball and cricket are games of detail. The subtlety of both sports are lost on those who don’t take the time to appreciate them. I’ve watched cricket on tv but couldn’t really connect with what was going on not because it’s a bad sport, but because of my lack of understanding of the small details in the game.

    Jeremy, explain to me how the Yankees are “yours” to root for. Didn’t you grow up in Mesa, AZ? What’s the connection? πŸ˜‰

  6. Jeremy’s always been a bandwagoner. (I’m pretty sure that’s a contradiction, but I’m saying it anyways.) He used to love the Bills too, but I haven’t seen him extolling their praises of late. πŸ™‚

  7. Well Zach, as you well know I did grow up in Mesa (long before we had a baseball team). When I really got into the sport of baseball it was through a passion for the Yankees as a young kid, and as John pointed out, I have been a bandwagoner ever since. Although, it’s funny how I only get called that when they win?

    As for Keith, I always love when Boston fans play the money card. Is it ironic that they drastically increased their salary and brought on a few big names (like Schilling) for their win to break the curse? Hypocrisy = BoSox fans

    Oh and John…I still like the Bills but Zach didn’t post on Bush throwing a football.

  8. Yeah fair point, it is v hard to pick cricket up, in terms of it’s detailed intricacies and idiosyncracies it is immensely complex, which is part of it’s problem in attracting outsiders and also part of it’s appeal for those who grew up with it.

    Baseball is easier to jump in and watch, the scoring and out systems are pretty straight forward, though things such as the code form the averages are written in seems baffling to me! I was out in PA last year around this time (I left here couple of days after the Astoria gig) and driving by the pitches and seeing people train did make me want to have a go, but alas I didn’t. I do have a mit and did have a metal bat, my Grandad’s brother bought me them when we first went out there in ’93, we argued about baseball v cricket too πŸ™‚ For some reason we had this staff v student baseball game at the end of each year in the Physics department at uni, but they’re all physicists thus everyone sucked! Did you pitch at school then? Or did you try and rebel from what you’re dad was into?

    Anyway lent’s over, you can jump back on the criticism. How about your views on the transparency of Haliburton’s government appointed Iraq rebuilding contracts to get you started? πŸ˜‰

    And having checked his page it seems clear Jeremy got into the Yankee’s solely cos of Fred Durst’s caps πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

