It’s Official!! (kinda)

I’m “Emergent” and “Postmodern”, although I wasn’t aware those two were mutually exclusive. I saw this little test on Adam’s blog so I thought I’d give it a shot. I anwered a bunch of questions and this is what it spit out for better or for worse. There were a bunch of questions I didn’t understand so I just selected the most nuetral option. Wasn’t sure about my stance on Karl Barth’s theology or some other stuff because I simply don’t know anything about well known theological perspectives. Also, I have no idea what “Evangelical Holiness/Wesleyan” means and so on. Although there were some things that were totally over my head, I feel like the little written description pretty much hits the nail on the head in terms of my sense about faith, God, and the church. I’m pretty sure at best, this is just a little meaningless fun and at it’s worst, it’s just more shit to argue about. Either way, if you have a problem with the results, you’re problem’s not with God….it’s with me!! Here are the official results:

You scored as Emergent/Postmodern. You are Emergent/Postmodern in your theology. You feel alienated from older forms of church, you don’t think they connect to modern culture very well. No one knows the whole truth about God, and we have much to learn from each other, and so learning takes place in dialogue. Evangelism should take place in relationships rather than through crusades and altar-calls. People are interested in spirituality and want to ask questions, so the church should help them to do this.

Emergent/Postmodern

79%

Classical Liberal

68%

Evangelical Holiness/Wesleyan

64%

Modern Liberal

54%

Neo orthodox

50%

Charismatic/Pentecostal

39%

Roman Catholic

36%

Reformed Evangelical

21%

Fundamentalist

7%

What's your theological worldview?
created with QuizFarm.com

6 thoughts on “It’s Official!! (kinda)

  1. I did another quiz at belief.net. here are the results:

    1. Orthodox Quaker (100%)
    2. Mainline to Liberal Christian Protestants (96%)
    3. Seventh Day Adventist (80%)
    4. Liberal Quakers (78%)
    5. Mainline to Conservative Christian/Protestant (78%)
    6. Bah�’� Faith (75%)
    7. Eastern Orthodox (71%)
    8. Roman Catholic (71%)
    9. Unitarian Universalism (69%)
    10. Orthodox Judaism (67%)
    11. Hinduism (63%)
    12. Reform Judaism (63%)
    13. Jainism (62%)
    14. Islam (58%)
    15. Mahayana Buddhism (56%)
    16. Sikhism (56%)
    17. Theravada Buddhism (56%)
    18. New Age (53%)
    19. Neo-Pagan (49%)
    20. Christian Science (Church of Christ, Scientist) (38%)
    21. New Thought (37%)
    22. Taoism (35%)
    23. Secular Humanism (35%)
    24. Scientology (34%)
    25. Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons) (32%)
    26. Jehovah’s Witness (26%)
    27. Nontheist (23%)

  2. 79% Evangelical holiness/wesleyan. 71% fundamentalist. 50% reformed evangelical. 46% emergent/postmodern.

    this test is so ambiguous, half of my answers were either “no, BUT” or “yes, BUT.”

    no wonder my results are all over the place.

    i’d like to take a quiz that is a bit more accurate, if it can be made. a challenge perhaps??

Leave a Reply

