Wallis and West

Last April Jim Wallis, auther of “God’s Politics, and Cornell West, professor of Religion and African American Studies at Princeton University, came together in a panel discussion at Princeton University to address “the role of prophetic religion in America”. I am a huge fan of Jim Wallis, but had only heard of Cornell West….until now. This is an amazing coming together of religious minds. I cannot recommend highly enough that you take time out to view to this dicussion. I brought up the saying, “We are the one’s we’ve been waiting for”, in my last post but after viewing this event I am reminded that those are the words of Jim Wallis.

Click here to view the site where you can launch the video. Scroll down a ways on the page to April 26, 2005 and it’s available in Real Player or Windows Media.

2 thoughts on “Wallis and West

  1. Thanks for the reference to this discussion… I really appreciated many of the points made by both Dr. West and Rev. Wallis.

    This is one of Dr. West’s statements that really grabbed something in me:

    “I don’t think that there can be any kind of overarching coordination for progressive voices. That’s what I meant by trying to hold at arm’s-length any kind of excessive coordination, or what I was even calling ‘unanimity.’ I think that what distinguishes ‘progressive’ is very much each group finding its voice and looking for convergence, not coordination. I believe that it’s authoritarian to ‘impose,’ but it’s democratic to come together and share where you overlap. I don’t believe there’s ever going to be (and ought not be) a democratic movement that has non-democratic means. There’s a close relationship between ‘means’ and ‘ends’ here.” – Dr. Cornel West

    Also, Zach, I thought you might find it interesting to learn that a popular professor at Wheaton College is running for Congress on the Democratic ticket. It’s refreshing to read about members of older generations that are active in “reframing the discussion.”

    Here’s a link to the magazine where I learned of this news (Page 7):
    http://www.wheaton.edu/alumni/magazine/wm_winter_2006.pdf

  2. Zach – This was indeed a great coming together of religious minds and provides a solid foundation that I hope the movement can spring from. There are so many important ideals discussed within the dialogue: Hope V. Cynicism; Career V. Vocation; Means V. Ends; Redefining success in America (humility rather than financial security), all of which are feelings or notions we often have but cannot articulate well.

    I take back what I said about Jim Wallis the other night.

    Peace.

Leave a Reply

