The Sacred Way

Thanks to Mark Oestreicher, who I recently hung out with in Sacramento while touring, I received a handful of books in the mail just the other day. One of them is “The Sacred Way” by Tony Jones. I decided to crack this book open first because when I met Mark, I also met Tony. I appreciated the conversation with Tony and figured the book would be something I could latch on to and learn something new.

This paragraph in the first chapter jumped out at me and was also begging to be shared:

“Imagine thinking about spirituality in a time when the words of Jesus had not been picked apart and voted on by the Jesus Seminar; the veracity of Jesus’ miracles had not been analyzed by TIme Magazine; his sexuality had not been the subject of movies and plays. Having not experienced the cynicism of our postmodern age, the ancient saints pursued Jesus with a relentlessness we can hardly imagine-not all of them, to be sure, but enough of them to make the history of Christian spirituality on of the most fascinating fields in historical study.”

One thought on “The Sacred Way

Leave a Reply

